A dry summer ???

I’ve not been blogging for a while – mostly because I’ve been out there, in the garden, doing it rather than writing about it! Just grabbing a few moments now before I get out there again :-). The larks are calling out in the field and the blackbird is ticking like mad as the young magpies are hunting the hedges for their breakfast. And the robins are singing, and the wind is (gently today, not like yesterday!) rustling the poplars. it’s calling, calling to me … I’ll be out there again very soon.

Self-heal - Prunella vulgari

Selfheal

I’m packing for a few days with friends on Dartmoor – I go on Monday. And I’m actually going to mow the lawn today! I say lawn, but it’s not what most people would call a lawn – nice smooth level turf all green and shiny :-). My grass is full of herbs, buttercups, daisies and most pleasing at the moment is the self-heal that’s coming through, so when I say “lawn” I’d be better to say “grass”. It’s really becoming a meadow. There’s not enough variety for me in it as yet but we’re definitely getting there.

self-heal in grass

Selfheal in grass

May was very cold and now June is very dry … the garden is accommodating itself to this but it’s not what I’m used to – nor is it! I’m watering a lot, a lot, at the moment and some parts are very dry. The well is struggling a bit too as it’s not been well topped up for 2-3 weeks.

My spinach hasn’t done a thing since I sowed it! I’ll have to weed out the bed again and sow more now it’s got warmer. It just didn’t germinate at all which again is something unusual, spinach always does well for me here. But not as yet this year.

Gardening and smallholding friends say similar things – and we’ve been saying them for years and years now. All of this small-scale observation does add up to something even if Big-Business Science takes no notice of us. We’ve all been noticing climate change in how our gardens work since 1990 despite what you read in the news. Another (apparently) small thing I’ve been noticing since 1990 is the wind in June – the trees quite often blow and bend as they wold in an autumn gale … at Midsummer! They were out there doing it again yesterday. 30-40 years ago they didn’t. You didn’t get strong winds in june, not like that, or if you did it was really unusual, like once in a lifetime. Now it’s every year.

Gardening really does help you notice what’s going on, what’s happening in your own little patch. Because gardeners are usually friendly folk they chat … so they compare what’s happening on all their patches. They also watch programmes like Gardeners’ World and hear what others have to say. Noticing is how we get and keep in touch with nature. She’s speaking to us all the time but we do have to take notice, listen. Getting out there, in the garden, hands in the soil, really helps that communication πŸ™‚

