Rabbits again …

bunny 7We seem too to be in a bit of a lull in the rabbit breeding cycle … I’m sure that won’t last!

I’m gradually getting the beds I need to keep the rabbits off wired. I’m using bog-standard wire netting and that seems to be working, even against the baby bunnies.I’ve got 2 more flower beds to go and some decisions to make about the others.

I’m definitely grassing over some of what has been (for the past 15 years) flower-beds … the beds are doing a lot of this for themselves. They just can’t handle “posh” flowers any more and that’s partly because of climate change which means they’re not getting the old-style weather and seasons they were originally bred for. I find this quite exciting. It means getting even more closely in touch and in tune with the spirit-of-place here … and we’ve always been very good friends. Now it’s like she’s taking me on a deeper journey into how the Earth (our little bit here that we share the guardianship of) wants to be.

I wish more people would work-with their gardens rather than trying to impose on them, turn them into something they’re not. The rock underneath your garden has made the soil into what it is … that rock dictates what grows easily and naturally in your garden. If you impose, try to change it, import lots of different topsoil, try to grow acid plants in alkali soil, etc, you will spend your whole time trying to keep them alive! Forcing with chemicals and foreign soil is hard work!

Anyway, the bunnies are helping give me lots of lessons in real wildlife gardening … don’t fight it, go with it and see what it has to offer you. It certainly has lots of things I hadn’t realised before and am enjoying – like the buttercups and daisies in the grass that I mentioned in my last post.

I’m gradually getting the hang of the plant situation – I think! It involves watching and observing what grows easily and what gets eaten. Things the rabbits leave alone are …

  • lady’s mantle
  • feverfew
  • thyme
  • catnip
  • oregano (I think)
  • oxeye daisy
  • foxgloves
  • poppies
  • comfrey
  • buttercups
  • ordinary daisies
  • purple clover (so far!)
  • herb robert
  • scarlet pimpernel
  • solomon’s seal
  • dog-tooth violets
  • daffodils
  • hardy geraniums
  • fully grown roses – they did eat the buds and scrape the bark during the spring

So that’s giving me a reasonable choice for this year. It’s a slow and careful job, redesigning the garden so that both me and the rabbits are content. I want an and/and situation!

The fruit-n-veg beds are getting wired, got one more to go and that one needs weeding before I get the wire up round it. If rain doesn’t stop play I’ll do it tomorrow 🙂

