Sowing flowers for the meadow …

https://i0.wp.com/i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02345/meadow-garden-flow_2345575b.jpg

Here’s what it might look like …

Phew! That was one wonderful eclipse … and the equinox … and feeling the super-moon. Had a marvellous time celebrating with some friends and also managed to do quite a lot of spring-cleaning. Now it’s time to get planning on the flower sowing …

Like I said last week, I’ll be doing more to bring the wild meadows I began last year and part of that is to grow on some flowers to transplant later. And I want to get quite a lot of annuals going too, they’re very good for the bees and butterflies which, as well as being food for them encourages them to pollinate the veggies for me. Many of them are nice for cut flowers too and they always bring lots of colour into the garden which I love.

Seeds, especially annual seeds (and that includes vegetables which we mostly grow as annuals) are very sensitive little souls. Yes, they always want to grow and will their damned best to do so but they really appreciate all the encouragement we can give them. For me, this is about sowing them at the time of the month when the relevant constellations that will help them germinate and establish best are being focused by the moon.

Steiner didn’t do all the stuff about sowing and transplanting and cultivating when the moon is focusing the relevant constellations, he left that to his successors and perhaps the most famous of these is Maria Thun. She began experimenting with sowing and planting at each of the different days of the month after her husband introduced her to biodynamics in the 1940s.. She carried on her work for over 70 years ago, spending the rest of her life refining it and learning more and more about how plants work in this way. She died in February 2012 and her work is now being carried on by her children Matthias and Christina. I’ve been using her star calendar since about 1991 and wouldn’t be without it.

Anyway … having decided that I need to sow the flower seeds as soon as possible after the equinox I went and looked up the best days in the star calendar – a good online one is here.

Have a look at the calendar for March 2015 … You’ll see it’s divided between root, leaf, flower and fruit plants and it’s also divided into northern and southern planting times. As I’m sowing flowers I need to find flower days … but not only flower days! I also need to find the flower days that are happening in the northern planting time. That’s because I live in Britain which is in the Northern hemisphere. If I lived in Australia or South Africa as some of my friends do then I’d be looking for flower days in the southern planting time.

This calendar, like Maria Thun’s, makes this really easy for me … I want the days underlined in green. As you can see that certainly means I shouldn’t be doing my sowing over the equinox and the eclipse and I certainly wasn’t. Yes, the 18th and 19th of March, leading up to the equinox, were flower days but they were relevant to the southern planting time, good for my Aussie friends but not for me! So, the calendar tells me not to do any sowing until after the equinox. It all felt wrong to do it then anyway – you do get sensitive to these things the more you do it but I always check anyway.

The northern planting time begins again in the afternoon of Thursday 26th March with a few hours of root-time then, the next day, there are a couple of flower days on which I can sow my wildflower seeds. They’re followed by a leaf day which means I can continue with sowing some of the leafy herbs I want to include … nice one! The few hours of root-time at the beginning offer me the opportunity to put some cow-pat-pit on the soil that I’ll be sowing into the next day and this will add a bit more oomph to help the seeds get going.

Next week is now sorted! Get myself, the seeds and the beds ready for a 3-day stint of sowing. It will be very satisfying! Timing is indeed a big part of working biodynamically, we work in tune with the stars and the constellation which is the way the Earth works so we’re in tune with her too. It really helps …

One thought on “Sowing flowers for the meadow …

  1. Pingback: Sowing flowers for the meadow … - Pagan Business NetworkPagan Business Network

Comments are closed.